It has been making headlines across the country for the past few years for its popularity at music festivals and in clubs, but Molly is far from new. Molly has actually been around for decades, and is a form of MDMA, also known as Ecstasy. It is a powder or crystalline form of the drug, and is usually more pure than other forms. Use of the drug can cause euphoria, lower anxiety and mild psychedelia. In 1985, the United States made it a DEA Schedule I Controlled Substance, meaning that it has high potential for abuse, no medical applications and is not considered safe to use.
Back in 2012, Molly was named as the cause of death for a young person at the Electric Daisy Carnival in Las Vegas. There have also been a number of occurrences where Moly has been mixed with other substances at parties and clubs, leading to dangerous situations. As with any substance, it is important to be informed of the risk that using Molly carries. One of these risks is being arrested for driving under the influence of that substance.
Nevada laws do not specify a limit for the amount of MDMA one can have in his or her system before being automatically found intoxicated (these amounts do exist for marijuana, heroin and cocaine). But, Nevada law does say that driving or exercising physical control of a vehicle while on is under the influence of a controlled substance or a mixture of a controlled substance and alcohol to the point where one is not capable of safely driving is illegal. It is also a misdemeanor to driver with Ecstasy in your system in Nevada, and a felony to be found with Ecstasy in your system.
If you are convicted for the first time for DUI, including DUI with Molly, you will face at least 48 hours in prison or 96 hours of community service, a 90-day suspension of your driver’s license, $340 in fines and other penalties as well. Second offenses see much harsher penalties.
It is also important to know your rights. If an officer pulls you over on suspicion of drunk driving, and asks if you are on drugs or have been drinking, you do not have to answer. You also have the right to refuse a DUI Breathalyzer Test. However, if you have not been drinking it can be best to consent because the test only measures alcohol, not drug use. After refusing a breath test, the police may ask to take a blood test. You have the right to refuse the blood test as well, and the police can then only perform the test after obtaining a warrant.
Although you do not have the right to an attorney at the time of arrest, you do have the right to an attorney after you have been arrested. It is important to hire an experienced Las Vegas DUI Lawyer to handle your case. If you or someone you know has been arrested for DUI, contact the lawyers at Lagomarsino Law at 712-812- 6939 today.